

Minutes of the 88th Annual General Meeting 2024

1:30pm, Saturday 7th September 2024 Blithfield Hall Admaston Rugeley Staffordshire WS15 3NL

Present: Charles Bagot Jewitt, Graham Bailey, Maggie Bailey, Jayne Bellenie, Mark Bellenie, Graham Bibby, Mary Booth (Vice-Chair and Trustee), Sarah Burgess (Office and Publicity Manager), Anne Clendon (Vice-Chair and Trustee), Hannah Clendon, Ann Drinkwater, Steve Hopkins (Trustee), Fiona Kells, Gerald Kells, Mohammed Khuram (Chairman), Liz Pratt, Gareth Roberts, Gillian Roberts, Steve Sankey, Margaret Shelton, Verne Shelton, Diane Smith, Amanda Weatherer, Andrew Weatherer, Anita White, Paul Windmill (Planning Advisor).

1. Apologies for absence.

Apologies for absence were received from Philip Atkins (Vice-President), His Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant of Staffordshire Mr Ian Dudson (President), Chris Emsley (Honorary Treasurer), Dave Evans (Trustee) and Andy Proctor (Trustee).

2. Minutes of the 31st August 2023 Annual General Meeting

There being no issues other than the accidental omission of Anne Clendon's name on the list of those present, approval of the minutes of the 2023 AGM was proposed by Steve Hopkins and seconded by Mary Booth.

3. Chairman's Report

Mohammed Khuram gave a presentation describing CPRE Staffordshire's work over the past year and explaining the idea behind Countryside Day. Future plans include producing a position paper on solar energy and organising walks to enable underrepresented groups to access the countryside. CPRE Derbyshire's Living Countryside Awards may serve as a model for a similar scheme in Staffordshire.

Charles Bagot Jewitt suggested Chartley Hall as a possible venue for the 2025 AGM.

Action: SB to Chartley Hall to enquire about the possibility of hosting an AGM and visit there. MK to contact the chief executive and Chairman of the Community Foundation to discuss Living Countryside awards.



Paul Windmill summarised the Government's proposed changes to the NPPF and planning system and the potential implications for Staffordshire. It is inevitable that Green Belt land will be lost to meet the higher housing targets.

4. Presentation and adoption of the 2023-24 Annual Report

There being no questions, the annual report was proposed for approval by Mary Booth and seconded by Fiona Kells.

5. Presentation and adoption of the 2023-24 Statement of Accounts

The accounts for the 2023-24 financial year had been prepared by the honorary treasurer, Chris Emsley. There being no questions on the accounts, acceptance was proposed by Mary Booth and seconded by Anne Clendon.

6. Ordinary resolution to elect a President

His Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant of Staffordshire Mr Ian Dudson was re-elected President, proposed by Mohammed Khuram and seconded by Steve Hopkins.

7. Ordinary resolution to elect a Vice-President

Philip Atkins was re-elected Vice-President, proposed by proposed by Mohammed Khuram and seconded by Mary Booth.

8. Ordinary resolution to elect a Chair

Mohammed Khuram was re-elected Chair, proposed by Mary Booth and seconded by Anne Clendon. All members present agreed and Anne Clendon thanked Mohammed for his excellent work as Chairman.

9. Ordinary resolution to elect a Vice-Chair

Mary Booth was proposed as Vice-Chair by Mohammed Khuram, seconded by Gerald Kells.

10. Ordinary resolution to appoint an Honorary Treasurer

There being no objections, the 'en-bloc' election of Steve Sankey as a new trustee, the re-election of the existing trustees (Philip Atkins, Mary Booth, Steve Hopkins and Mohammed Khuram), and the re-election of the Honorary Treasurer, Chris Emsley, was unanimously approved by the members present.

11. Any other business



Mohammed Khuram expressed his thanks to Ian Dudson for serving as President and to all trustees, volunteers and members. He also thanked Charles and Cosy Bagot Jewitt for hosting the AGM and tour.